New Zealand Symphony Orchestra presents

Schumann and Barber

21 June 2017

ITR Auditorium

James Feddeck - Conductor
Daniel Muller-Schott - Cello

BRAHMS - Tragic Overture
SCHUMANN- Cello Concerto in A minor
BARBER - Adagio for Strings
BARBER - Symphony No. 1

We are thrilled to welcome back world-class cellist Daniel Muller-Schott to perform Robert Schumann’s Cello Concerto in A minor.

A regular on the international stage since winning the prestigious International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians at the age of 15, his energetic and fearless style will ensure this achingly romantic Cello Concerto is a highlight of the 2017 season.

The programme begins with Johannes Brahms’ Tragic Overture, a turbulent, tumultuous work. Reaching beyond the limitations of language, Samuel Barber’s iconic Adagio for Strings has been played to mark the deaths of John F Kennedy, Princess Diana, and to commemorate those who died in 9/11. Barber’s natural lyricism is also found in his Symphony No. 1, where four movements are reduced down into a single continuous work.

Maestro James Feddeck’s crisp interpretations put the music centre stage in a concert of high drama and profound emotion.

Tickets from $15

Please make sure you purchase your tickets from our exclusive supplier - Ticketek NZ